LGBTQIA+

Outcome: LGBT Portraits

Related image

In 2014 Photographer Tom Dingley set up his #Outcome project – to photograph LGBT people with the attributes of their everyday life – their work, or their interests; and holding a picture of themselves as a child.

The message was, no matter how hard it is growing up, no matter who you were, you become who you become, and you are amazing. Several well-known people are included.

Two years and several exhibitions later, this is the Outcome.

First, I want to say that I’m glad this project happened.The overall message definitely came across. I think the thing I loved the most about this project is how diverse the participants were. After the first few I was concerned I wouldn’t see that but I definitely do see an attempt. They try to show how diverse LGBT people are in the book. Show that we come in a variety of colors, shapes, ages etc.

Image result for outcome tom dingley

Another thing is that I learned about some popular LGBT figures in the UK. It showcased some people who are doing great work currently. I was able to research them and follow them on social media or their websites. I want to be more knowledgeable of what great progress is happening in other places when it comes to things LGBT. I feel like some of the people I follow from this text are helping with that.

Things were choppy in the eArc but I figured it out easily enough. I love the concept of the photo project and how it is executed. Each or most of the participants have a picture from their childhood in hand.gave me a very hopeful feel. It’s not easy for everyone growing up and that felt like a ‘you can get past it’ kind of thing. It probably helped that I think everyone was smiling. If I had the physical book I’d flip through to make sure but I don’t think I’m wrong. It was really nice to see.

The people in the book come from such a vast amount of careers. Politicians, actors, writers, dancers, activist, etc. I felt inspired by many of the stories and they weren’t even that long. It usually was just a short piece and the photo. I think that’s how I know it’s a great project. A cohesive feeling it gives you. You matter. You can get through the rough times. You can be who you are and be happy.

I definitely want to get the physical book when I can. It would be a nice book to have out for if a guest was over and decided to flip through it. Not sure if I’d recommend a kindle version like I read because was choppy and a bit confusing. However, it is manageable if you want to pick up a digital copy onstead.Also, mine was an ARC so it may be better formatted for Kindle use now.

Leave a comment