Book Reviews, Nonfiction, Readathon

A Work in Progress by Connor Franta

28365019

In this intimate memoir of life beyond the camera, Connor Franta shares the lessons he has learned on his journey from small-town boy to Internet sensation so far. Here, Connor offers a look at his Midwestern upbringing as one of four children in the home and one of five in the classroom; his struggles with identity, body image, and sexuality in his teen years; and his decision to finally pursue his creative and artistic passions in his early twenties, setting up his thrilling career as a YouTube personality, philanthropist, entrepreneur, and tastemaker.
Exploring his past with insight and humor, his present with humility, and his future with hope, Connor reveals his private struggles while providing heartfelt words of wisdom for young adults. His words will resonate with anyone coming of age in the digital era, but at the core is a timeless message for people of all ages: don t be afraid to be yourself and to go after what you truly want.
This full-color collection includes photography and childhood clippings provided by Connor and is a must-have for anyone inspired by his journey.” – Goodreads

This was a pretty good memoir. I honestly was skeptical on how much I’d like it going in and part of that was just because Connor is writing this so young.You look for life lessons in memoirs. Not always explicitly pointed out lessons. I find that you usually learn something from following someone else’s experience. I definitely see the value this novel could have for younger audiences and older audiences with some of the messages presented in the text.

One of the big messages you could get from reading this memoir was about not letting anyone stifle your creativity. When people want to pursue a creative endeavor like content creation on Youtube, writing, photography, painting, or any other creative outlet people will often deter them from pursuing that.Say things like it’s just a hobby. Make you think it’s something you shouldn’t put your focus in.  I feel like people focus on what is successful too much sometimes. They want a guarantee but if you are a person who loves doing something then don’t let negative thoughts stop you. Not ones from others or yourself. Reach for your goals.

Realized that I led into another lesson of the book which is all about not waiting for your happiness to come around. Seek out things that will make you happy. Do what you need to in order to find your happiness in your present because you don’t know how long you have. Connor told a really great story about when he learned this lesson. It was something that really hit home for me right now in a very transitional period of my life where I don’t really know what I’m doing. I appreciated it a lot.

The photography throughout this book was beautiful. I usually prefer to listen to audiobooks of memoirs but I feel like missing out on the beautiful photos in this book would be a travesty. Not only that but the creative layout of the book. The ending section that focuses in on his Youtube career in the copy I read has a cool layout. Black pages with white writing and an orange Youtube play symbol before the headers. It was really cool. I also loved the shorter sections thrown in that had an image behind the wording. This was a book by a really creative person and you could tell that going through it. One of my favorite elements besides the messages in the memoir.

I definitely enjoyed this read. I’d recommend it to anyone that is even vaguely a Connor fan.I haven’t watched many of his videos besides watching his Coming Out video a couple times. Still, I decided to pick this up and I’m glad I did.

 

Leave a Reply

