Comics, LGBTQIA+

Jughead Vol. 1 Review

27405590

In the grand tradition of comic book reboots like ARCHIE VOL. 1, Archie Comics proudly presents… JUGHEAD VOL. 1–from the comics dream team of Chip Zdarsky (HOWARD THE DUCK) and Erica Henderson (THE UNBEATABLE SQUIRREL GIRL)!

Riverdale High provides a quality education and quality hot lunches, but when one of those is tampered with, JUGHEAD JONES swears vengeance! Well, I mean, he doesn’t “swear.” This is still Archie Comics after all.

This was just a really fun read. I think Jughead is just a great character. Personality and look. I want to know where he got his hat. I really want to know where he got his hat.

I really hope the Riverdale show does not brush Jughead’s sexuality under the rug. I want an asexual character on my tv screen.I hope it’s portrayed well.

Jughead’s fantasy sequences were something I think won’t work for everyone but worked for me. I loved the super teens sequence the most. The Game of Thrones like one wasn’t really my thing but I still liked it enough.

I love the art. Erica Henderson is becoming one of my favorite comic artists between this and Unbeatable Squirrel Girl. I will end by saying that I really really want to know where he got his hat.

 

Leave a Reply

