Comics, LGBTQIA+

Midnighter, Vol. 1 : Out

26067592

Overall I felt the story was a little chaotic but still loved it. Midnighter is a really great character to follow. He has a different moral compass than some other heroes you might read but the compass is still ticking. There was a situation in the book that I felt would go really badly but Midnighter handled it really well. Like a superhero should handle it I think. He also just likes to fight and help people who deserve it. He’s a good guy. Violent but good. I appreciate that.

I think everything happening in his personal life was really interesting. Midnighter is gay. He’s trying to get over his ex-boyfriend Apollo. I never read the two of them together but even from this comic, I could see how great their relationship was.

Loved how realistic his dating life seemed to me. He’s going on dates kind of casually. He’s hooking up with guys. Sometimes the relationships don’t go anywhere even if he definitely wants more. Sometimes those dates are interrupted by gunfire. It’s the life of a protagonist in a comic book. What ya gonna do? Midnighter is a relationship kind of guy who has a hard time in relationships. I felt that was something people could relate to.

I’m really excited to get the next volume of this when I can. I need to read more about this Midnighter and see how he progresses after everything he goes through in this volume.

 

Leave a Reply

