ARC's, Book Reviews

Homesick At Space Camp by Francis Gideon

27414945

This was a really cute sci-fi romance novella. It’s about a guy on a space station on the planet Zaffre. He’s left Earth after losing his mother and he may be doing a bit of a running away from his problems there. Loved Eastyn’s development, which felt like a lot for such a short novella. Eastyn listens to a radio station that he often calls into. He slowly starts to fall for the Dj who ends up being AI.

I wasn’t completely feeling the story from the beginning. It took me a while to get to that midway point, but when I did I started speeding through it.  It is a romance. I didn’t know how I felt about the main character Eastyn’s and Milo’s budding relationship at first. I haven’t finished any story that involved someone falling in love with an AI or any kind of robot/droid/cyborg thing before now. So this was a first for me.

I think about midway through I really started to like Milo a lot. Then I started to really root for the pair as a couple.I was hoping they could find a body for Milo and go from there.The whole time I was kind of waiting for something to go wrong, but I was really happy with how it worked out in the end.

Eastyn’s and Milo’s first date is adorable. I really thought it was kind of a funny situation. I liked the subtle humor that was present in the story.Milo’s lack of body was the really big issue between them and I felt like Eastyn didn’t even mind that as much as he could have. He was happy talking to Milo.  Music is a big element. It’s often what the two bonded around. I really enjoyed that because it was relatable.

Also definitely, have to mention that Eastyn is pansexual and has a discussion about it with his Sister and her girlfriend at one point. Really liked that the story had a lot of variation there. They talked about bisexuality as well. Either Zaffre is a very queer planet or people are just a lot more open with their sexuality in this future. Either way, I loved it.

**This eBook was provided by NetGalley. Expected release date – February 24th, 2016. **

Leave a Reply

