Uncategorized

Eve: The Awakening Review

25523025

 

Eve is an outcast. A chimera.
After years of abuse and rejection, 19-year-old Evelyn Kingston is ready for a fresh start in a new city, where no one knows her name. The esteemed Billington University in sunny Southern California seems like the perfect place to reinvent herself—to live the life of an ordinary human.

But things at Billington aren’t as they seem. In a school filled with prodigies, socialites, and the leaders of tomorrow, Eve finds that the complex social hierarchy makes passing as a human much harder than she had anticipated. Even worse, Billington is harboring a secret of its own: Interlopers have infiltrated the university, and their sinister plans are targeted at chimeras—like Eve.

Instantly, Eve’s new life takes a drastic turn. In a time filled with chaos, is the world focusing on the wrong enemy? And when the situation at Billington shifts from hostile to dangerous, will Eve remain in the shadows, or rise up and fight?

This book was so dynamic. I don’t even know where to begin. I’m somewhat in awe of it. I took my time with this book in a way that I don’t normally do and I am really glad that I did for it. This is a new adult sci fi novel. It is not something I can really say I’ve read a lot of and if I have they weren’t quite like this.

The plot is so well planned out. Each sequence of the book could have been it’s own episode of a show and it’s a damn good one. It literally felt like episodes to me. I enjoyed that a lot. There were enough big moments to feel like I had a mid season finale. Some huge dramatic reveals leading up the the biggest reveal of the novel each felt like  their own episodes. We got a more comic, but still dangerous episode where Percy has to go undercover at one point. I absolutely loved that feel. I think the writing style has a lot to do with it. The dialogue and detail let me feel the story in this way.

Speaking of the big twist/reveal though. I had guesses. I had three guesses on something. I was 100% the big reveal coming up was going to be my first guess. The other two were just back ups. I was completely shocked.  My mouth dropped and I kept saying wow. Everyone on the CTA bus was looking me like I was crazy and I didn’t even care for  a couple minutes. Someone could have filmed me and I wouldn’t even know. I really applaud Jenna Moreci for it.She made me want to go back into my own writing and make sure I’m not making things too obvious. I really liked being surprised.

I also really like the characters even the evil characters. By the end of this I was just so surprised by how much I love them. Percy is definitely one of my favorites.Alongside Sancho and JJ. Percy and Sancho are badass, but have really realistic comic moments. Percy is also gay.A book having a main gay cast member is always a bonus for me if you haven’t guessed from my other reviews. 

I’m officially a JJ fan even though I think she is cracked out of her mind sometimes. I also could say that about Sancho though. Can’t wait to see where she goes because I was back and forth with my feelings on her lot. She is a valuable member to the team.They would not have been able to do as much as they did without her.

Eve is a fantastic protagonist.I wasn’t that with her at the beginning, but I really did grow to love her as I saw her growth. Eve and Jason have multiple breaking points in this story and it’s great to watch how they handle them or aren’t able to handle them.Their relationship developed among so much chaos, but I really loved it.Jason is really extra sometimes in this. Like he needs to find his chill, but still love him. 

The fight scenes in this book were some of the best that I’ve read all year. They were so good. Each fight kept getting bigger and better as the story went on. I liked that we got to see what everyone was doing during the fights.I didn’t mind the head hopping because it wasn’t confusing at all. We were getting a glimpse of the whole field of battle , which made sense when the fights were that big. I had to stop and take notes on some of the descriptors used in the fight scenes at one point because they were so good.

I liked the way the world/time period details aren’t thrown at you right at the beginning. We get things throughout. I really liked learning about the time period in the moments throughout. Often through bits of the dialogue as well.

I wasn’t a big fan of the dream sequences, but I’m just not a fan of them usually. I wasn’t confused by them though. It was pretty clear when we were in one of Eve’s dreams and when we broke out of one. I did really like the last one that appeared in the book. It came at a really appropriate time and gave good insights into the character’s state of mind at the time.

I hope we get to see a bit more of the team’s reaction to everything they go through in this book and whatever follows. There’s a small timehop at the end and I want to know what happened in the in between time a little more. I read this on ebook , but I absolutely need to by a physical copy like now. I want it in my possession because a book this amazing needs to be on my shelf. I can’t wait until the next book is released.I rated this one 5 stars.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Eve: The Awakening Review”

Leave a Reply

