Book Reviews

Turning 16 By Perie Wolford Review

LGBTQ Voice

turning 16

Rating : 3.5 stars

Turning 16

Author: Perie Wolford and Michelle Doering

Genre : M/M YA

Length: 196 pages

 

This is a story about a gay teenager that is inspired by the movie Sixteen Candles. I’m going to start off by saying that I loved the birthday curse element of the story. It worked really well. I would think I was cursed if I was Sam. The guy had some real bad luck on birthdays. The story is really different from Sixteen Candles, but you can definitely see the influence, I loved that about it.

The main thing I didn’t like was how oblivious Sam was. He just did not understand what was going on around him while I wasn’t surprised by any of it. I knew what everyone else felt about him and what their intentions were just from his dialogue with them and what he witnesses of them…

View original post 422 more words

Leave a Reply

